## Arts and Sciences Election

To:	Faculty of Arts and Sciences
From:	Committee on Nominations and Elections
Date:	February 23, 1995
Subject:	Elections to Faculty Committees at the Faculty Meeting
-	on April 2.

The Chair of the Nominations Committee, noting that the first Tuesday in March falls this year during the Spring Break, assumed that the March faculty meeting would be canceled. He therefore missed the nominations deadline for the rescheduled March meeting, on March 14. He extends his apologies. Elections will now be held in April and May. Nominations are invited for the following to be elected at the meeting on April 2. You may nominate yourself or another. Please send written or e-mail nominations by March 15 to:

Alan Ward

Government Department e-mail: ajward@facstaff.wm.edu

1. Faculty Assembly:

A special election for <u>one</u>, two-year term in Area II to complete the term of Vincent Sutlive, who has resigned from the Assembly.

Continuing members in Area II are: Donald J. Baxter (Government, '98), Mary Voigt (Anthropology, '98), Clyde Haulman (Economics, '97), and James McCord (History, '96).

## 2. Academic Status:

An election for two, three-year terms.

Continuing members are: Maryann Brink (History, '97), Henry Coleman (Art and Art History, '97), Stephen Clement, (Geology, '96), and Deborah Morse (English, '96).

3. Educational Policy:

An election for three, three-year terms.

Continuing members are Anthony Anemone (Modern Languages, '97), Edward Pratt (History, '97), S.Laurie Sanderson (Biology, '97), Jesse Bohl (Philosophy, '96), John Drew (Mathematics, '96), and Eugene Tracy (Physics, '96).

4. International Studies:

An election for three, three-year terms.

Continuing members are: Earl McLane (Philosophy, '97), John Williams (Religion, '97), Diane Owen (Economics, '97), Lawrence Marceau (Modern Languages, '96), Christopher MacGowan (English, '96), and Brian Blouet (Government, '96 - elected for a two-year replacement term in 1994).

<u>NB</u> A number of continuing members, as yet officially unknown to the Nominations Committee, will be on leave or otherwise absent in 1995-6. Their positions will be filled in the fall, by special election if necessary.